top of page



​​UN 2023 Water Conference - Hybrid (Virtual and in-person) Side Session on Indigenous Water Ethics, 24 March 2023

Water-Culture Institute (WCI) is co-organizing a hybrid (in-person and live-streamed) side session on Indigenous Water Ethics as part of the UN 2023 Water Conference taking place at UN headquarters in New York from 22-24 March.  WCI is partnering with Indigenous Environmental Network and Tishman Environment and Design Center at The New School to bring a perspective of Indigenous water ethics to the UN discussions of water for sustainable development.  Our message in a nutshell is,"If it's not ethical, it's not sustainable." 

But what IS ethical?  Ethical for whom?  Indigenous Peoples recognize that the world is home to myriads of species, including but not limited to humans.  Indigenous water ethics offers essential lessons about how to balance the well-being of people and Nature.  Through a series of short presentations the two-part side session on Indigenous Water Ethics will provide an overview and  case studies of Indigenous water values.  The session will conclude with a discussion of the types of commitments that Indigenous communities and organizations might offer to the UN's Water Action Plan.


The two sessions will take place on Friday, March 24 from 10am to 12pm (Session 1) and from 1:30 to 3:30pm (Session 2). The physical meeting will at The New School at 66 West 12th Street in the school's main auditorium, A106. The virtual option will consist of a live-stream video of the panel presentations.  When you register for the session you can indicate whether you want to attend in-person or virtually via Zoom. 

REGISTER HERE for either the virtual or in-person option. 

For any questions concerning the event please email the following addresses:

Following is the list of confirmed speakers for the two sessions.  The detailed schedule is visible after you register.


1.  Tom Goldtooth (Dine'/Dakota, Executive Director, Indigenous Environmental Network,


2. David Groenfeldt,  (Director, Water-Culture Institute), 


3.  Mona Polacca (Hopi/Tewa/Havasupai) - (Indigenous Environmental Network)]

4. Darlene Sanderson (Cree),, (University of Northern British Columbia)


5.  Betty Lyons (Haudenoshone),, American Indian Law Alliance,


6.  Sid Hill (Haudenoshone)  Tadodaho (Chief of the Onondaga, Keeper of the Flame of the Six Nation Haudenosaunee Confederacy),


7.  Rawiri Stephen Tinirau (Maori),, Te Atawhai o Te Ao Aotearoa,  


8  Clara Soaring Hawk (Linape) Chief of the deer clan of the Ramapough Nation;


9.  Tamara Marie Archie, (Stswecem’c Xgat’tem First Nation);


10.  Lynn Alden Orion Morrison (Secwepemc),,  Qwelminte Secwepemc 

11.  Roberto Mukaro Borrero, Human Rights Advocate


12.  Leonardo Figueroa Helland, The New School



IMG_6314 (2).jpg
bottom of page